top of page
  • Writer's pictureKathleen Gray

Little House on the Prairie Birthday Party

In May, my oldest turned 7 years old. I wasn't initially going to plan a birthday party but she said she wanted a Little House on the Prairie theme and I couldn't resist. I made it as simple as I could and it turned out really pretty. I love planning parties but I am sure that next year, it's going to be family only.


When she told me she wanted a prairie theme I was kind of stuck on what to do. I found The American Girls Party book at the library and Kirsten's chapter was so helpful. You can find the book on Amazon for really cheap. I think I paid $5 for my copy.


I made my own invitations, large runner, and handkerchiefs. The girls made handkerchief dolls and the boys made tin lanterns. You can find the handkerchief doll directions in The American Girls Party book, but for the lanterns I collected tomato cans and filled them with water and froze them in the freezer. Then used a hammer and nails to make holes in the side of the can and then let the water melt. (NOTE: use a can opener that keeps the edges smooth so you don't cut your hands on the top)


We played prairie games and ate some prairie food (all in TAGP book).

This is another website that was very helpful to me http://littlehouseontheprairie.com


Let me know what you think! I'd love to hear from you!










5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page